Ethiopian man, Kenyan woman win L.A. Marathon

First-time marathoner Bayelign Teshager of Ethiopia was the men's winner of Sunday's 35th annual Los Angeles Marathon while
Kenyan Margaret Muriuki was the women's winner.

The 20-year-old Teshager, who lives in Boston, won in two hours, eight minutes, 27 seconds. This was the third time since 1999 a non-Kenyan won the men's race. Ethiopians also won in 2011 and 2014.

John Langat was second in 2:08:44 while fellow Kenyan Wilson Chebet was third in 2:09:17.

Muriuki was the women's winner in 2:29:28 in her second marathon. The 33-year-old won the 2019 Honolulu Marathon in December in her debut at the distance.

Almaz Negede of Ethiopia was second in 2:32:29. Jane Kibll, a Kenyan who lives in Auburn in the Sacramento area, was third in 2:36:05.

African women have won nine of the last 11 races, with runners from the former Soviet Union winning the other two times.  A field estimated by organizers at more than 25,000 started the race shortly before 7 a.m. at Dodger Stadium. Runners and wheelchair and handcycle racers then headed through downtown Los Angeles, Echo Park, Hollywood, West Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Century City, Westwood, Brentwood and Santa Monica.

The race drew a record 27,150 entrants from all 50 states and a record 78 nations. The previous record for entries was 26,054 in 2010.

(Photo by Mario Tama/Getty Images)

The previous high for nations with runners entered was 66, set last year.

The 2020 entrants included 131 runners who competed in all 34 previous editions of the race.

There is traditionally about a 10% dropoff from the number of entrants to the number of runners, Dan Cruz, the marathon's head of communications, told City News Service.

There were 25,500 entrants and 20,608 finishers in 2019. The race has had the fourth-largest field among U.S. marathons each year from 2016-19. 

The race has a purse of $100,000, with equal prize money for men and women. The top five male and female finishers will receive prize money. 

The winners will each receive $23,000, the runners-up $12,000 and third-place finishers $7,000. The top American man and woman will each receive a $2,000 bonus.